I Wanted…

Christmas 2016 has come and gone and this was a strange one for me.  I never really “got into” Christmas this year–I just spent the month of December going through the motions.  Now that it has passed, I miss it terribly.  I feel like I wasted this one because I didn’t actively engage in it.  I only have so many left with Hannah while she still believes in Santa Claus and I let this one slip away.  Thank God that Lea Ann was around to ensure that presents were bought. 🙂

The interesting things is this: I had grand plans to celebrate Christmas this year! I was excited when Christmas music was on the radio and I wanted to blog my 25 favorite Christmas Carols, I wanted to take Lea Ann and Hannah to look at lights throughout town while drinking cocoa, I wanted to ring the bell for the Salvation Army with Hannah, I wanted to do this, I wanted to do that, I wanted…..and yet…I never did any of those things.  I let the day to day stress of life and everything that Christmas is “supposed” to be about take over my head and drown out the true joys of the season-celebrating the birth of Christ and spending time with those I love.

How do I reclaim that?  I’m not sure…..but I’m going to do my best to not let it happen again.  Maybe part of it is writing more in 2017 and being intentional about my actions throughout the year.  Something to think about….

Until then–Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

