The Real World-Oklahoma

When I was in college, MTV’s reality show “The Real World” made its debut…..and I was a huge fan.  This was when they really did just pick seven college-aged or older kids to live in a house together and see how they interact instead of casting stereotypes or roles (naive southern girl, gay male, fraternity guy, moody/antisocial person, etc) and put them into staged scenarios-but I digress.  I loved that show and I think there was something to watching people my age having some of the same life experiences I was having….as I got older, the show lost its appeal and I haven’t watched for almost 15 years.  To tell the truth, I don’t even know if they still air it any more.

My point is that I feel like my wife and are now living in our own season of “The Real World” except we’ve added just one stranger to the house and she controls everything!  When she eats, when we eat, when she sleeps, when we sleep-you name it, she controls it.  Even when she’s sleeping in the early evening, you are always aware that she could wake at any second so we never completely relax.  Obviously, it will get better as she gets a little older, her sleep is more regulated, and she can start to communicate a little BUT I’d be lying if I didn’t admit I’ve reached the point where the “new” has worn off and the adrenaline has run down some.

I’m 100% sure that it gets better as she gets older-just sharing an honest thought at this stage.  Everyone says that around 60 days, things change for the better and we are almost halfway there so I have no doubt it will be great.  But for now, let’s see what happens “when people stop being polite and start getting real”

Leave a Reply

