Here She Is…..

Well, we’re going to start off with a bang here. I became a father a week ago today! My wife and I adopted a baby girl who was born on Sunday, July 15th and she’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. I also have to admit that this scares the crap out of me….just watching her, I worry about everything-are we feeding her too much/too little, is she getting the right amount of sleep, is she safe in her bed, etc. Probably the same things new fathers have worried about for centuries but they are very real to me all the same. I take comfort in something the nurse said to us at the hospital-“Babies turn out fine despite the best efforts of new parents” and I know that we can do this but I’d be lying if I didn’t admit my fear.

The best thing in our favor is my wife who is a natural at motherhood. I’ve discovered that women have an innate gift for taking care of children and it takes a little time for it to develop in dads (this isn’t an excuse for dads not to participate in parenting-just an observation that it doesn’t come quite as easy to us). Watching my wife take on this challenge of motherhood has made me fall in love with her all over again. it really has been amazing to watch.

Anyway, I suspect this blog will now be about my thoughts/feelings as a new dad…not sure how often I will post and it may end up being nothing but that’s my plan for now. Hopefully, I can use it as a record of how I was feeling as my daughter grew up and maybe give her some insight into what I was thinking. Until later….

Leave a Reply

